Log in or sign up:

Artists Fans

OPUS - Vinyl

Artist: Afenginn
Product image. Click to extend.

200,00 DKK

OPUS, the sixth Afenginn album, presents a composition built up in four movements, inspired by the form of the classical symphony. Exhibiting individual modes and characteristics, each movement is a piece in it’s own right. Thematic material, motifs and rhythmic patterns, nevertheless, connect each movement with the greater whole. OPUS is the result of a series of unforeseen circumstances, as well as the synergy and effort of many people. In a small way this mirrors how life often evolves: uncontrollable, unforeseeable, yet still somehow navigable. As a composer in the midst of this unfolding play, I am reminded that different qualities usually lead to a whole which is greater than the sum of it’s individual parts. These are part of the sentiments I wish to express with OPUS. 


★★★★★★ "A symphonic masterpiece" GAFFA (DK) 
★★★★★ "Visionary and timeless. I listened to it in one breath!" Stacja Islandia (PL) 
★★★★★"Simply fantastic" Sound & Image (DE) 
"A record like this has not been done before" Gaesteliste (DE) 
"Matchless masterpiece" Musik an Sich (DE) 
"OPUS is a fantastic double album that defies any clear...  more


released April 29, 2016 

Recorded in Studio 3 at the Royal Danish Academy of Music and Skuret in August-November 2015 by Jonas Nakel, assisted by Romans Komars, Louis Daurat and Weronika Weirzba. Mixed and mastered by Jonas Nakel. Produced by Jonas Nakel and Kim Rafael Nyberg. Music composed and arranged by Kim Rafael Nyberg. Lyrics by Timo Haapaniemi. Additional arrangements by Tróndur Bogason (Partiro Futile, Fototoksik, Pandemonium) 

Rasmus Krøyer: clarinet, bass clarinet 
Niels Skovmand: violin 
Kim Rafael Nyberg: mandolin, piano 
Erik Olevik: cello, bass, synthbass 
Kaare Munkholm: marimba, vibraphone, piano 
Knut Finsrud: drums, percussion 
Ulrik Brohuus: drums, percussion 

Ólavur Jákupsson: vocals 
Ale Carr: cittern 
Katrine Grarup Elbo, violin 
Heiðrun Petersen: violin 
Mads Haugsted Hansen: violin 
Daniel Eklund: viola 
Live Johansson: cello 
Ketil Duckert: trumpet, flugelhorn 
Gustav Rasmussen: trombone, bass trombone 
Vokalselskabet GLAS: female choir

{{comment.usrNick}} – {{comment.date | date:'dd/MM/yyyy'}}